Powell River Academy of Music
Scholarship Winners

Scholarship Winners

Thirty-four young musicians perform for scholarships at the annual Powell River Academy of Music Scholarship Competition May 14, 2021.

The Powell River Academy of Music holds an annual scholarship competition for students 18 and under at the Academy. The scholarship money is generously donated by patrons and teachers. The scholarships assist students in their future studies.

The Academy congratulates all the students for their excellent performances.

Piano performers included Lente Delport, Madyx Whiteway, Leeya DeVilliers, Logan Muzylowski, Carter Ricketson, Ilse Uhlmann, Avi Uhlmann, Georgia Clark, Orielle Clark, Mekwan Blaney, Menat'they Blaney, Isla O'Donnell, Russell O'Donnell, John Carlson, Ben Holler, Josiah Holler, Howard Durnin, Matvei Zonov, Timofei Zonov, Eric Ruegg, Monica Ruegg, Yoshun Kita-Sternberg, Aaron Schweitzer and Jaid Kirzakow.

Scholarship recipient for the Daryl and Doreen Smith Scholarship awarded in Junior Piano is Leeya DeVilliers, Runner-Up Timofei Zonov, Honourable mention Eric Ruegg and Howard Durnin.

Scholarship recipient for the Lillian Dickson Memorial Scholarship awarded in Senior Piano is Jaid Kirzakow, Runner-Up Aaron Schweitzer.

Voice performers included Ilse Uhlmann and Avi Uhlmann.

Scholarship recipient for the Mr. & Mrs. Richard Hibberd Scholarship awarded in Junior Voice (12 years and Under) is Ilse Uhlmann.

Instrumental performers included Cecilia Gao, Shunsei Kita-Sternberg, Aiden Muzylowski, Kyla DeVilliers, Francois DeVilliers, Piper-Dove Hueston, Hannah Giesbrecht, and Tristan Somers.

Scholarship recipient for the Mr. & Mrs. Derry Simpson Scholarship awarded in Junior Instrumental (12 years and under) is Kyla DeVilliers.

Scholarship recipient for the Carriere Scholarship awarded in Senior Instrumental (13 to 18 years) is Hannah Giesbrecht.